F. Joseph Loughrey

Joe Loughrey was with Cummins Inc. for over 35 years until he retired on April 1, 2009 where he was president and vice chairman. Cummins is the world’s largest independent diesel engine manufacturer. He was a member of its board of directors since 2005 and the board of The Cummins Foundation since 1992.

During Loughrey’s career, Cummins—based in Columbus, Indiana—grew into a Fortune 200 company with over 40,000 employees and more than $14.3 billion in sales in 2008. Almost 60% of those sales were made outside the United States.

Along with his responsibilities at Cummins, Loughrey, a 1971 graduate of the University of Notre Dame, is recognized as a leading proponent of advanced manufacturing, both in Indiana and nationally. He served on the board of trustees (chairman 2005-2007) of The Manufacturing Institute, the educational arm of the National Association of Manufacturers and was founding chairman of Conexus Indiana from 2007—2012, an organization dedicated to promoting advanced manufacturing and logistics in Indiana. He continues to advocate for far better alignment between education and the knowledge and skill requirements of the future. Since the early 1970’s, he has also been involved in the promotion of international cooperation as well as corporate responsibility. He is actively involved in a number of organizations and initiatives which seek to eliminate poverty and injustice in the world.

He is chairman of Hillenbrand Inc., chairman of Oxfam America, and serves on the boards of AB SKF, Hyster-Yale Materials Handling, Inc., The Vanguard Group, Oxfam International, Lumina Foundation, and The V Foundation for Cancer Research. He is also a member (chair 2009-2012) of the advisory council to the College of Arts & Letters and chair of the Kellogg Institute for International Studies advisory board, both at the University of Notre Dame.

His honors include being named to the Irish America Business 100; Distinguished Alumni Honoree for Massachusetts Boys’ State 60th Anniversary; AIESEC Lifetime Achievement Award; Volunteer of the Year—Association of Retarded Citizens; and in 2007 he was given the Achievement Award for Business by the Ireland Chamber of Commerce in the U.S. and the Dick Johnson Leadership Award by the March of Dimes. He was named Indiana Global Business Person of 2007 and appointed ‘Sagamore of the Wabash’ by Governor Mitch Daniels in 2008. He also received the Ellis Island Medal of Honor in 2008. In 2009 he was given the John F. Kennedy National Award by the St. Patrick’s Committee of Holyoke, Massachusetts, the William R. Laws Human Rights Award by the Human Rights Commission of Columbus, Indiana, and was elected to the Indiana Academy. In 2015 he received a Doctor of Humanities (honoris causa) from Saint Anselm College in New Hampshire for his philanthropy and volunteerism.